Microscopic Anatomy at UAMS

Microscopic Anatomy

Blake Williams, of Little Rock, Arkansas, won the competitive Dr. Horace N. Marvin Award for achieving the highest grade in the freshman Microscopic Anatomy course. The award was established at Dr. Marvinís retirement in 1985 to recognize the 43 years of service he dedicated to UAMS as educator, researcher and campus leader.  He was Professor, Chair of the Department of Anatomy from 1958-1967, Director of the Microscopic Anatomy course, and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. The award was presented to Blake at a ceremony with family, friends, and classmates in the UAMS library at the statuary bust of Dr. Marvin.  Cynthia J.M. Kane, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Course Director of Microscopic Anatomy in the Department of Neurobiology and Developmental Sciences in the UAMS College of Medicine made the presentation.  Blakeís name has been added to the Marvin Award memorial plaque adjacent to Dr. Marvinís bust in the UAMS Library and the award will be recognized at his graduation in 2012.

   UAMS medical student Blake Williams received the Dr. Horace N. Marvin Award from Cynthia J.M. Kane, Ph.D., at Dr. Marvinís bust (center) in the UAMS Library, May 7, 2009.

Return to the Anatomy home page...

Powered by:  Apple Internet Server Solution.